top of page

The Unexpected Friends

At dinner tonight with my friends Kim and Holly, we realized (after a glass or two of wine) that we are unexpected friends. By that, I could also say we were connected by some degree before we met each other. Kevin Bacon fans call it 6 degrees of separation, but for each of us to come together it was really just one degree. 

I met Kim through my childhood friend Amanda, and when she moved away to Texas, we became closer. While spending time with my family one day, she looked at my dad and shouted, "Mr. Tesmer!?" And then put together grade school, and my dad... he was her teacher. Even though she knew my last name, it wasn't until she heard his teacher-name that she put two and two together. 

Holly and Kim met each other through a mutual friend at a wedding, but didn't become close until they reconveined over wine and breakup stories. Coincidently a few months later, Holly had posted on Facebook she was in need of a dog sitter. I had just gotten out of a relationship myself, and Kim knew a dog-fix was just what I needed. The three of us met up over sushi so that we could meet each other before deciding on the dog babysitting arrangement, and the rest is history. 

bottom of page