top of page

The Poor Man's Sushi

Currently while slicing:


  • Eating: trying to resist picking at avocado slices

  • Drinking: hot sake

  • Entertained by: Amazon Alexa’s NPR daily news brief


As I watch a questionable and rapid bubble from my rice cooker that I discovered from my weekend kitchen clean out, I wonder if I have a backup frozen pizza on hand for dinner if this “poor man’s sushi” doesn’t turn out. I can recall two instances where I made sushi at home - both of which were epic failures due to not-so tasty rice - and here I am sipping sake eyeing the pot feverishly. Okay, maybe I just wanted to have an excuse to drink hot sake. After uncovering the kitchenware piece that was hidden for at least a good two years, I mentally browsed my fridge and realized, yes, I can do this. I have shrimp, cucumber, avocado, and imitation crab. It crossed my mind to use the can of tuna I had to make a spicy tuna roll, but after a long hard pause at the pantry door, I thought This is poor man’s sushi not desperate man’s sushi. The only thing I needed was the sushi nori seaweed and some sake. I hear a “click” and stand up from my seat at the counter to eye the rice cooker. The switch changed from cook to warm and thus began an epic staring contest between me and the machine. I am my father’s daughter - whenever we have directions to an appliance, etc., it goes out into the garbage immediately after opening the item. No amount of Googling could help me find the correct time allowance for cooking sushi rice that would match my rice cooker, so with trust in my nose, unblinking eyes, and a lucky sip of sake, I crossed my fingers.

At least I had the makings on standby, and worst case scenario, it will make for a great deconstructed sushi bowl. Those are still a thing, right?

Wish me luck!

bottom of page