top of page

The Table For One

Congratulations folks, we are halfway through the writing challenge! >>insert champagne glass clinking<< !!

Have you ever noticed how sad someone looks at you when when you dine alone? Honestly, I can’t tell if it’s disappointment in the waiter’s eyes as they widen, or the confusion in that crease between their brows that tells me one of two things: “that's so unfortunate for you, you must be lonely” or “thanks so much for taking up a large table with your party for one”. Maybe it’s nothing at all, but it’s a look I’ve been given over a handful of times.

And a whole lot of, "Oh, is it just you tonight?"s. >>sigh<<

Mostly, I just love to treat myself to a meal that I don't have to make.As much as I love going out to try new restaurants with friends, sometimes it's relaxing to just go out and try something on your own without making plans. Today I did this for lunch. During my commute between meetings, I stopped over at a local Thai restaurant that I frequent for carry out. I walked in and sat myself, only to be greeted by the waitress eagerly asking, “Are you waiting for others?” I looked at her and smiled, “No. Just me!”, but as I peered down at the menu readying my noodle order, out of the corner of my eye I saw her pause long enough to tilt her head and give me “the brow”. She emitted a subtle and judging "...Oh.." that cued up the chorus of more "Oh it's just you tonight?"s in the background.

I was at a table for four, but with only one other party currently dining on the opposite side of the small restaurant and this being the only sunny spot by the window, I figured my choice in table wasn’t hurting anyone. It was time to relax, celebrate a morning of amazing collaboration, and get to a few missed emails on my phone. In breaking from my gmail scrolling, my eyes moved toward the lunch specials and ping of guilt hit me. I noticed I could have been taking up a larger party’s opportunity at the window-spot, and before I could ask if I needed to relocate, the waitress arrived back to ask me if I was ready to order. “That was almost a little too quick,” I thought, as though she was as eager to get me out of there as I was ready to fill my grumbling tummy with lunch. I gave her my regular order - no time to find something new, and in what seemed the length of a commercial break, she swiftly presented my food. Delicious Pad See Ew noodles with chicken and veggies. As I readied my chopsticks and slurped down the noodles, I realized that even then had I been with a party of four, there’d be no opportunity for conversation in this moment - the food was way too good to stop eating.

bottom of page