top of page

The Weekend Workout

Currently while slicing:

When I was young, I had great metabolism. I could eat whatever I wanted in whatever quantity I wanted and somehow I would lose weight. I remember coming home from working at Einstein's Bagels when I was a teenager and taking home some end of day cinnamon sugar bagels. As a pre-dinner snack or even dessert I would slice myself one of those tasty treats, throw it in the toaster, and spread some peanut butter on it (heavenly toasty sugar how I miss you!). This would also be the same for when it was Girl Scout cookie season – I would tear open the plastic wrapping of the thin mints or chocolate peanut butter Tagalong cookies and eat an entire row of them while working on my homework. A can of Pringles after school, cooler ranch Doritos... yeah, I’m clearly starting to sense a pattern here. This went for healthy snacks, too, and I can picture the plate of carrots I'd make myself before dinner that was always accompanied by heaping spoonfuls of garlic ranch dressing (hmm... maybe not so healthy). I'd like to think that I had my dad's metabolism – for lunch he can still eat bologna sandwiches, drink a can of Pepsi, and have a large handful of chips and not gain a pound. Unfortunately this isn't the case in my adulthood. I'm at the age where I have come to the realization that it is a requirement that I keep an eye on the food that I consume. This requires a few healthy shakes, salads for lunch at work, daily exercise, and saying a woeful “no” to those Doritos and candy bars (I saw you staring at me in the Target checkout line today you delicious snacks) so I can maintain the eating style that I have. I do sneak a treat here and there, but I always indulge in the realm of dinner time. I never skimp on a good dinner (I'm having pasta tonight… and I hear Oprah in the back of my mind: “I. Love. Bread….!!”).

I mentioned in an earlier post that I joined a gym called Spenga and I try to go at least three or four times a week.

This morning I scheduled an early class but woke up a bit later than I should have. I had only half an hour to let my body process the shake of chocolate protein powder, banana, and peanut butter that I guzzled down beforehand. Usually on weekends, I reserve my breakfasts to be a little bit more special than my shakes during the week (poached eggs atop avocado toast - I missed you today!), but time is a factor here and I had to eat something quick. This is a gym that I have the ability to walk to about two blocks from my place and I thought that would do the trick to settle my stomach before I hopped on their spin bike, worked my strength training, and ended with yoga. Don't worry I will spare you details within my writing descriptions here of how my stomach felt, but I will tell you that this became one of the hardest classes to get through - and it wasn't because of what the instructor was having us do today. Within the one-hour class, the metaphorical hills we'd push through during spin became mountainous. During strength and yoga, I sweat more than usual, my face was as red as a tomato, and I went through about three bottles of water when I usually only go through one (and was it just me or were there WAY too many downward dogs today??). At one point, my right quad burned so badly I considered that it might be hot to the touch. No, I did not go out the night before, and typically I love how my body and mind feel after a class here. Today, I assume my body was telling me, “Tarah, you should have just enjoyed your Sunday morning, canceled your class, and made an avocado toast.” Perhaps there's something to be said about a day of rest and listening to what your body needs. With that being said, a cup of tea and a nap with a soft blanket on a cloudy Sunday afternoon sounds like just what I need.

bottom of page